Call us today!

(651) 639-1223

MFU heading to Santa Fe, New Mexico for National Convention
By Communications Director

Minnesota Farmers Union (MFU) members will be attending the National Farmers Union (NFU) Convention in Santa Fe, New Mexico, March 8-11. 


“The National Farmers Union Convention is important because members from throughout the country gather to discuss ideas important to family farmers and then they pass common-sense policies that will guide us and give direction to Congress in the upcoming year. It is true grassroots policy-making at its finest,” said Doug Peterson, Minnesota Farmers Union President.


Minnesotans attending:

Don Davis, former CEO of Farmers Union Industries, LLC in Redwood Falls, and 2014 recipient of the National Farmers Union Meritorious Service Award. Don’s wife Daphne will also be in attendance.

Tim Velde of Granite Falls, as National Farmers Union Policy Committee Chair.

Meghan Osterbauer of DeGraff and Caleb Schmitz of New London will be attending as part of the National Youth Advisory Council (NYAC).  They are two of only six people elected by their peers to be on NYAC. They will make a presentation to the entire convention body, and help plan next year’s NFU All-States Leadership Camp.


Bryan and Jennifer Klabunde of Waubun will be attending as members of the Farmers Union Leadership Couples' Program, developed to empower future leaders in Farmers Union and rural communities.


Jennifer Gibson of North Mankato; Eric Hoese of Mayer; Brent Krohn and Bryce Krohn of Nicollet; and Carsten Thomas of Moorhead will be attending as part of the Beginning Farmers Institute.


Delegates to the NFU Convention are JoAnne Riegert of Waubun; Sam Holmgren of Atwater; Ross Eichens of Minneota; Peter Ripka of Ogilvie; John Larsen of Mantorville; and Merlyn Hubin of Westbrook.


Other MFU members attending are: Farmers Union Insurance Agency President Rodney Allebach and his wife Linda of Albertville; Sandy Hubin of Westbrook; Larry and Gina Jacobson of Hitterdal; Marvin and Marlys Jensen of Kensington; Richard Moen of Clearbrook; Alan and Karen Perish of Browerville; John Nelson of Waubun; Norma Holmgren of Atwater; Stacy Ripka of Ogilvie; Bessie Klose of Atwater; Lisa Severson of Eau Claire, WI; Lori Klose of Benson; and Brian Rohrenbach and Linda Larson of Rosemount.


MFU staff in attendance will be: President Doug Peterson and his wife Elly of Madison; Vice President Gary Wertish and his wife Jeanne of Renville; Education Director Glen Schmidt of St. Paul; Membership Director Bruce Miller and his wife Chris Fullerton of St. Paul; Communications Director Katie Fitzsimmons and her husband David of Minnetonka; and Office Coordinator Amanda Valencia of Forest Lake.


If you would like to speak with any of these people during the convention, please call Katie Fitzsimmons, MFU Communications Director, 612.616.5252.


You can view the full convention agenda at